The Fire District is governed by a Five Member board elected by the public. They serve a five year term. The board also consists of a recording secretary.



Dawn Mitchel



Tim Geil

Vice President

Dawn and her husband Micheal moved to the Foster area in 1998. They have two kids, two cats and three dogs. They enjoy all sorts of outdoor activities such as swimming, fishing, hunting,

“Oregon is a great state for enjoying all those things and I am lucky to have lived in the Willamette Valley all of my life. I am especially thankful for the opportunity to serve on the board for Sweet Home Fire and Ambulance since 2006. I have met a lot of amazing people here at SHFAD. Thank you for visiting our website!!”

Tim Geil is the son of Joe and Joyce Geil. Tims father Joe was a volunteer firefighter for Sweet Home. Joe grew up in a family that was in the lumber and timber industry. He graduated from Sweet Home High School and went to college at OIT for Diesel Engine Repair. He has lived in the community for 48 years.

Elmer Reimer



Larry Johnson

Board Member

Elmer D. Riemer grew up in Dallas, Oregon. He graduated from Dallas High School. His career was with Safeway Stores Inc., where he started as a courtesy clerk and graduated to being manager for several stores. His career ended after 39 years of service.

He came to Sweet Home in 1963 working for Safeway. After a short stint to manage a store at Lincoln City, He and his family returned to Sweet Home where he still lives today.

In 1988 he joined the Sweet Home Ambulance District where he served on the Ambulance Board at that time. In 2000, the Sweet Home Fire and Ambulance District was formed and he was elected to service as a board member. He still serves as a board member of the Fire and Ambulance District today.

Larry came to Sweet Home in 1971 with his wife Candy. They have two adult sons and five grandchildren. Larry was a volunteer fireman and was on the original rescue squad for over 20 years at Sweet Home. He has been a teacher, coach and Athletic Director and School Administrator for over 30 thirty years.

As a community member, Johnson was selected as Junior First Citizen, First Citizen, and received the Keith Gabriel Memorial Award. John was very honored when he also selected into the Oregon Athletic Directors Hall of Fame. Currently, Johson is a Jamboree Supervisor and also participates in projects for the High School and the alumni association.


Don Hopkins

Board Member

Don Hopkins was born in toldeo, oregon the great grandson of early oregon pioneers. He has lived with his wife glenda and daughter Kim Armstong, Kathleen Cochran, and Jennifer Maynard for over 40 years in Sweet Home. He is a retired School Superintendent, but served Sweet Home School District as the administrator of the Junior High, Holley and Crawfordsville schools for 9 years.

Among his contributions, he served as the President of the Sweet Home Fire and Ambulance District for 30 years, President of the Jim Riggs Senior Center President of the Sweet Home Chamber Ambassadors, Chairman of the Linn County Budget Board. Chairman of the Sweet Home School Board, appointed to the Oregon State Bar Board, serves on the BLM Salem, LBCC Foundation Board, Linn Benton Lincoln ESD Board Chairman, is a Life Member of the Sweet Home Elks Lodge and the Oregon State University Allumni Association.

Don and his wife Glenda have lived on their small ranch in Holley for over 40 years and love having their three daughters, sons in laws and 6 grandchildren all in the area.


Sweet Home Fire & Ambulance

In an emergency, please call 911.

1099 Long Street, Sweet Home, OR, 97386